Lola loves… an easy to make 1950s fascinator

Handmaking your own fascinator, 1950s style

Handmaking your own fascinator, 1950s style

As promised, here’s the fascinator I made for the recent wedding, which I blogged about yesterday. I went for a 1950s style to match my outfit (I was going for Mad Men of course, who wouldn’t).

In terms of how-tos, there’s little to tell you about this project — it’s simply a matter of choosing your colours, buying your individual items and fashioning them together.

I cheated and bought a ready-made teardrop shaped sinamay fascinator base, but next time I’ll be good and hand make one, honest!

I made a red velvet bow a la Elsie Larson for the back and attached faux (okay, obviously plastic) cherries to the back to add a fun, rockabilly element. I also stitched netting to the front and a hair comb on the underneath of the base to secure it to my hair.

What do ya think? I loved making it and have the distinct feeling I’ll be making more. In fact, I may start a revolution; let’s get women wearing fascinators more often! They’re all too easily limited to weddings and the confines of our own homes and quite frankly, it’s weird (but wonderful) wearing one while doing housework!

 Here’s another one I made recently. Have you got any tips or examples of homemade fascinators?
Here's the top of the handmade 1950s fascinator

Here’s the top of the handmade 1950s fascinator

...And here's the back of the handmade 1950s fascinator

…And here’s the back of the handmade 1950s fascinator

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

6 responses to “Lola loves… an easy to make 1950s fascinator

Leave a comment

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

ThreadBEAR

Handmade Clothing and Accessories

SusieDDesigns Sewing & Crafts

Sewing, knitting, crafts, inspiration...