Lola loves… making rings!

I have a bit of a thing for rings. I change mine everyday and I’m always on the look out for more. It’s an expensive habit so making them is that bit more rewarding.

This black asymmetric ring was easy, if a bit fiddly to make. Here’s how I did it…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I primed a piece of black polymer clay, warming and rolling it until it was malleable. (I wrapped the rest of the clay in cling film to stay soft). I then cut a quarter of it and rolled it to 2mm thick. I then cut a strip and wrapped it around my finger, slid it off and smoothed the edges. I then baked it at 150C for 30 mins. This gave me the ring base from which I could sculpt the finished project.

Once cool, I primed the rest of the clay and worked it into a rectangle and smoothed that on to the base ring. Using a sharp scalpel  blade I cut the clay at irregular angles and then worked it smooth with my fingers and the flat surface of a table.

I then baked it again at 150C for 30 mins.

Obviously, once you’ve done the base, you can create any shape and chose any colour. I know I’ll be coming back to do more as I’ve already worn this ring lots!

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

4 responses to “Lola loves… making rings!

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

lovebeautynotcruelty

Living beauty without the need for cruelty to our fluffy friends X

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

The Dawn Report

Dawn O'Porter

Uknit2

I get lots of fibre.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

