Lola loves… Cross stitch cards

Hello peeps, I’m ba-ack! Well, what a break it’s been – I’ve felt pretty bad not being able to keep up with the crafty blog but I’ve still kept busy. During my writing lull I’ve turned 30; been spoilt rotten with spa treats, cakey eats and posh champagne; had a holiday and been to a festival in Barcelona; FINALLY resolved my lifetime ambition to see Gaudi’s La Sagrada Familia; found new band crushes, made new friends and still managed to fit in a few craft projects.

So now I’m slowly resurfacing from all that hedonism, it’s about time I got back to posting on my makes.

Today I’d like to tell you about the father’s day card I’ve made my dear old Pops. It’s my first try at cross-stitch since my early teens. While it’s far from impressive it has rekindled my fondness for the little x’s and I’ve piled up a ton of cross stitch projects to work on in the future. I’m loving Wee Little Stitches, which is where I got the pattern for this make, and I’ve also bought their cross stitch pattern for Star Wars characters (both on Etsy). If you haven’t seen them, check them out – they do the greatest patterns!

This one was stitched on 16 count aida (as I bought the wrong kind) and it’s ended up pretty massive. Next up, I’ll try stitching a wedding card on 14 count.

After stitching, I fixed the aida to piece of card folded in half. I stuck it on using spray-on glue, folding and gluing the edges on the reverse side. As this was inside the card, I then neatened it up by cutting a piece of matching wrapping paper of the same size and stuck it over to cover it.

My dad’s a huge Bob Dylan fan and collector, which is why I went for this. Though it is slightly strange for a Father’s day card, hopefully he’ll still appreciate the effort.

Just to share, here’s a few pics from my time off. The street art was down an alley in Barcelona and the yummy cakes by Fiendish & Goode were a birthday gift from a friend (okay, one is missing but you can see why I couldn’t wait!)

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

One response to “Lola loves… Cross stitch cards

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

lovebeautynotcruelty

Living beauty without the need for cruelty to our fluffy friends X

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

The Dawn Report

Dawn O'Porter

Uknit2

I get lots of fibre.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

