Lola loves… Crafty Estonia!

Hey peeps! Well, I’m back from my business trip to Tallinn, Estonia. It turns out those button chairs I posted about were just a hint of the cool things you can find there and I’ve been busting to tell you all about it!

Tallinn is a mecca for crafting, its specialties are amber jewellery, wood-work, felting and knitting.

In just a few hours off to look around, I found everything from hand-carved wooden spoons to felted jewellery and knitted wooly socks. The best however, were giant doilies that’d be great as rugs (I really wish I’d bought one!)

Another thing I wish I’d bought was this gorgeous printed cross-stitch apron.

But, I did manage to bag some pretty crafty finds, some of which I’m sure you’ll see in future projects.

 


 

 

 

1. Felted blanket stitch soles — I’ll use these to make slippers for my fella, 2. Buttons in Juniper and Apple wood, 3. Cinnamon honey — as delicious in coffee as it is on toast, 4. Russian style stacking dolls — great to store jewellery findings.

Tallinn is small but beautiful; its architecture is backlit by blue skies (it was only dark for around four hours each night while we were there) and its history gives it an intriguing personality.

Estonia is similar in many ways to its Baltic neighbours yet its occupancy by Soviet Russia during World War II also had a profound effect. This is clear in its architecture and history books; 25% of Estonians died during the Nazi regime, more than any other country in Europe.

The Estonian Museum of Occupations in Tallinn, charts all this through video and found objects. It’s a great way to understand the history of the country and the effect of the Nazi regime on smaller countries often overlooked. Separate to this important message, I found the exhibition very interesting in terms of 1940s and 1950s design and thought I’d share a a few of the photos I took   

1. Local propaganda magazine from the 40s, 2. A prison door with Russian writing, 3. Suitcases of those killed by Nazis, 4. A very intriguing telephone, (unfortunately little was said about this. Why no buttons? Was is a prototype? Did it only call one person, and who?) A telephone box with Russian writing.

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

3 responses to “Lola loves… Crafty Estonia!

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

lovebeautynotcruelty

Living beauty without the need for cruelty to our fluffy friends X

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

The Dawn Report

Dawn O'Porter

Uknit2

I get lots of fibre.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

