Lola loves… Drink, Shop & Do – the perfect place for tea and cake

Thanks to Black Cat Originals for the invite to the Linky Party! I really recommend this place  if you’re ever in old London town! 

 

 

As an Easter treat, the girls and I went to Drink, Shop & Do — it’s the perfect place for a tea party without the fuss!  Drink, Shop & Do is a beautiful craft cafe and shop just two minutes walk from Kings Cross station, central London. It sells all manner of goodies from ribbons to boiled sweets and cocktails to cakes. It’s a little bit like heaven, except that I think the cake in heaven would be calorie and fat free!

These three images curtesy of the Drink, Shop & Do website

The lower level of Drink, Shop & Do is a small shop which sells beautiful books, handmade items from local crafters, sweets and ingredients for your  own craft projects. The top level includes a bar, seating area and dimly lit snug room all decorated in a way that makes you achingly envious. (Why can’t my kitchen look like this?)

We treated ourselves to a rather decadent (and decidedly calorie-laden) afternoon tea that included chewy sweets, scones with jam, finger sandwiches, a pot of tea and a cocktail each. I had a coconut something, which to be honest took me straight back to being a teenager – in a bad way. (Did anyone else go too heavy on the Malibu at the school disco?) The other girls’ raspberry and rose flavoured concoctions were both pretty and tasty.

Wowzers, what lucky girls. Especially as the only reason we had to lift a finger was to cram some more scone into our mouths!

There are oodles of lovely  places to go for afternoon tea in London but what makes this place special for me is that encourages its guests to get involved and create. There’s a class or ‘make-along’ almost everyday; have a go at clay modelling, make a lego robot or papier-mache monster , or have your hair styled in vintage pin-up victory rolls (I MUST come back for that one!)

It’s also a great place for hen or birthday parties, especially as you can book a group lesson on how to make cake pops, a fascinator, 1920s headband or cross stitch panties! There’s an early doors disco on Wednesday, or for those more heady occasions there’s its so-called ‘dirty little secret’, Drink, Shop, Dance, which offers DJs, disco balls and drinks in similarly design conscious surroundings.

Somehow not feeling that I’d treated myself enough, I also bought a pretty vintage style ring, which went so well with my outfit I think it was fate. (It was fate I tell you, I had no choice but to buy it!) Here’s the ring and the pretty sweetie bag they wrapped it in, which I couldn’t help showing you too. Can you also spot my newspaper nails? I saw these bad boys on Pinterest, I will post about them soon.

Follow Me on Pinterest

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

8 responses to “Lola loves… Drink, Shop & Do – the perfect place for tea and cake

  • Sarah Adie

    Love the look of this place! Craft and cake – the perfect combination. I also clocked your newspaper nails, I blogged about them a while ago – totally my favourite way of getting jazz hands! Thanks for linking this post up, I’m in London in June so will definitely see if I have time to squeeze a visit in! 🙂

    • LolaLovesCraft

      Sorry, I forgot your image/link – it should be there and working now! Yes, this place is lovely, you should def drop in, espesh as it’s so easy to get to from Kings Cross (literally a two minute walk).
      Yup, loving the newspaper nails. The Dainty Squid blog has some amazing ones which I’ll try out tonight – argh! I can’t keep up with all the ideas!

  • the stitcherati

    Next time I’m in London I’ll have to check this out. Sounds like a really fun place! Wish we had something like that in New York.

  • sylvitahandmade

    ah! This place sounds amazing, I wish there were a place like this near where I lived. In Los Angeles, there’s not many places for afternoon tea, we are a coffee drinking nation after all. At least where I live, about 20 miles east of LA, there’s lots of asian tea houses, but those cater more to people who are getting together to chat or study, nothing creative like this. Also digging your nails, I saw that tutorial on pinterest as well.

  • LolaLovesCraft

    I’d not come across this kind of thing in the UK before either. I think it’s because crafting is getting really popular here, which is a great thing. Honestly, I wished I owned this place – so maybe I just need to relocate to LA or NY and set up one myself!

    • sylvitahandmade

      oh, I’d gladly go into business with you if you ever decided to come to LA! I used to dream up ideas of owning my own cafe when I was in high school. Lately, I’ve been thinking of opening an artist studio and have some kind of classes for the community where I live. After reading this post, I started thinking why not combine both dreams? I just need to learn more about starting a business though.

  • Planet Penny

    Looks like a wonderful place for an indulgent afternoon tea!

  • LolaLovesCraft

    Hey Sylvia,I’m really glad that the post gave you some ideas. I think your plan sounds great. It’s certainly somewhere I’d like to hang out! Alas, I love my London too my much but if you ever get big enough for a UK branch, give me a shout! 😉 Good luck finding the right advice, luckily there are lots of places that offer it now. If it’s something you’ve been dreaming about for so long then it’s something you should do – always trust your gut feelings, I say!

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

lovebeautynotcruelty

Living beauty without the need for cruelty to our fluffy friends X

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

The Dawn Report

Dawn O'Porter

Uknit2

I get lots of fibre.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

