Lola loves… A cameo brooch (and my cat)

It may seem a little strange to make a cameo of a cat but it’s in honour of my real-life cat, Dee (named after Dee Dee Ramone), who I miss  a lot when I’m away. Now I’ve made my cat cameo though, I’ve already started a few others as you’ll see later.

Here’s a picture of my cute kit and another of the brooch. I haven’t quite captured him (he’s far pouffier with all his long fluff) but it’s enough to serve as a reminder.


What you will need:
A brooch back with front plate (see picture below)
An image you want to sew
Embroidery thread
Needle
Fabric
Embroidery hoop
Scissors
Fine pencil

I printed a basic cat image from the Internet making sure it was small enough for the brooch. I then cut round it and used it as a template to mark my fabric. I used a retractable pencil with a fine point to mark the fabric as the detail was too intricate to use chalk.

I then placed the fabric in the embroidery hoop, sewed round the pencil markings with a simple back stitch and secured the ends.

I cut the fabric, wrapped it round the front plate of the brooch fitting and sewed it in place with a few stitches at the back making sure there were no folds at the corners. You can pick brooch settings like this up easily on the Internet, I got five for about £3 from eBay.

I then popped the front plate in place over the back setting and pushed down the teeth using closed scissors. Easy peasy.

I’ve already sewn a traditional cameo lady and a few other ideas in case I fancy doing more. I think it would be a nice thing to pop in homemade crackers at Christmas time or in with a letter to a friend – it’s always a treat to get snail mail that isn’t a bill nowadays!

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

lovebeautynotcruelty

Living beauty without the need for cruelty to our fluffy friends X

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

The Dawn Report

Dawn O'Porter

Uknit2

I get lots of fibre.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

