Lola’s finding… Vintage storage solutions for embroidery threads

This isn’t a ‘make’ exactly, but I thought I’d share this idea with you because I’ve found it so useful. Lo and behold – vintage tins make great storage solutions for your sewing bits! I regularly sew during my long commute and as I’ve been too busy to make any kind of storage or sewing roll, I’ve just been throwing all of my craft ingredients into a plastic bag. Not good.

My solution? Vintage tobacco tins! I found these two in a local charity shop (admittedly it was on the first day of my pledge to stay away from said charity shops for a whole month. Naughty, eh?) These tins were very common in their heyday, so they pop up all over the place and I recommend keeping an eye out for them.

Vintage tobacco tins - great storage for your embroidery bits

Vintage tobacco tins – a travel kit for your embroidery bits!

Vintage tins - A perfect fit for your skeins

 A perfect fit for your skeins

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not only are they very pretty but the larger is the perfect length for embroidery skeins. I have a few, some for tobacco, some for sweets, but the large ones are all the same length and width. There is also enough room for your essential scissors and needles.

They took a bit of cleaning and I lined them with tissue paper as the insides had become a little rusty, but at just £1 for the small and £3 for the large one, I think I’ll be heading to the charity shops more often!

 

 

 

 

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

One response to “Lola’s finding… Vintage storage solutions for embroidery threads

Leave a Reply

concretemoomin

Documenting life in photos and drawings

lovebeautynotcruelty

Living beauty without the need for cruelty to our fluffy friends X

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

The Dawn Report

Dawn O'Porter

Uknit2

I get lots of fibre.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

