Lola loves… making felt roses

I promised you a picture of and ‘how to’ of these felt roses. I’m a day late (apologies), but here goes!

As I said in my last post, I got the ‘how to’ from Gertie’s Blog For better Sewing (are you super excited about her new book, out soon? I can’t wait to get my mitts on a copy!).

Felt roses, great for so many craft projects!

Felt roses, great for so many craft projects!

All you need to make these is a strip of felt and a needle and thread.

Have a look at Gertie’s instructions as they’re very clear. I found the trick to folding these is to bend the strip of felt down a 90 degrees angle before continuing to wrap it round.

It has to be said, Gertie’s are better but a) she is Gertie and b) this was a first attempt. I think the effect works much better when using a longer, wider strip, making larger roses. I’m sure I’ll soon post again having made larger roses to prove my point!

Once it’s been made and it’s time to sew it in place, I found that sticking in a few pins helped it keep together — essential if you’ve forgotten to thread your needle already! Gertie’s tip to ‘stab stitch’ is also great one I’ll use again.

I can see endless opportunities for these little pretties. I sewed these on to hair clips but I’ll make more to decorate a fascinator and can also see them being used to prettify presents.

About LolaLovesCraft

A fond crafter, I enjoy creating and upcycling whenever I get a free minute. Follow my blog with Bloglovin View all posts by LolaLovesCraft

4 responses to “Lola loves… making felt roses

Leave a Reply

concretemoomin

Documenting life in photos and drawings

lovebeautynotcruelty

Living beauty without the need for cruelty to our fluffy friends X

Airy Mountain Goods

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Home and Garden Welcome.com

Bringing you home, wherever you live.

The Dawn Report

Dawn O'Porter

Uknit2

I get lots of fibre.

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

